Summer 2016 Workshop - June 20-22, 2016



Summer 2015 Workshop - July 13-14-15, 2015


This year's workshop was a phenomenal success and we wish to publicly congratulate the following schools and students for their award-winning work.


Split Track

First Place - C. E. Byrd High School
Second Place - North Forney High School
Third Place - Frisco High School / Plano East High School (TIE)


Split Track Writing

Excellence in writing: Karli Usrey - Frisco High School

Excellence in headline writing: Char Wilson - C.E. Byrd High School

Excellence in reporting and writing: Elizabeth Liu - Central High School

Excellence in overall writing: Valerie Moran - Central High School


Team Track 1
First Place - Independence High School
Second Place - Lucas Christian Academy
Third Place - Lake Dallas High School

HM - Lone Star High School/Byron Nelson High School


Team Track 2
First Place - Reynolds Middle School
Second Place - Midlothian High School
Third Place - Renner Middle School

HM - Rice Middle School


Team Track 3
First Place - Waxahachie High School
Second Place - Rockwall High School
Third Place - Denton High School

HM - McKinney North High School / Legacy Christian Academy



Best background research: Haley Pevsner- Plano West High School

Best feature story: Katelyn Van Slightenhorst- Plano East High School

Best story ideas: Marisa Pisterzi - Plano West High School

Outstanding editing potential: Abby Goodman - Central High School

Rising star: Sriya Reddy - Plano West Senior High School


The Dan Regalado Excellence in Photography Award: Kelsie Hopkins - North Forney High School

Excellence in photography - Staff: Decatur High School